Emphasizing ‘A Natural Style of Kicking and Punting’®, Coach Zauner’s teaching philosophy facilitates an environment where kicking specialists develop the skills, technique, and confidence to achieve their maximum physical and mental potential. At an amateur and professional level, Coach Zauner, LLC programs and events provide a kicker, punter or snapper ‘A Specialist’s Path to PRO Football'®...Coach Zauner, LLC Mission Statement

Monday, November 23, 2009

Three Ray Guy Finalists

Coach Zauner Working One on One Punting Lessons with Drew Butler

Finalists Announced for 2009
Ray Guy Award

Augusta, GA (November 23, 2009) - The Augusta Sports Council announced today the finalists for the 2009 Ray Guy Award for top collegiate punter. The three athletes were selected by a national voting body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) coaches, sports information directors, national media, and former Ray Guy Award winners. The voters will cast a second round of ballots to decide the winner.

This year’s finalists are (in alphabetical order):

Drew Butler (So.) Georgia
Currently leads the NCAA in gross punting average, as the Georgia Bulldogs lead in team net punting. Named midseason All America first team selection by Sporting News and Phil Steele. Had a long punt of 75-yards against Oklahoma State.

Chas Henry (Jr.) Florida
The Week 10 SEC Special Teams Player of the Week has led the Gators to a third-place NCAA ranking in team net punting. Has dropped 12 punts inside the 20-yard line and has 6 punts of 50-yards or more.

Zoltan Mesko (Sr.) Michigan
The 2009 preseason first team All American has led the Michigan Wolverines a second-place standing in team net average. The four-year starter is Michigan’s all-time career leader in both punts and punting yardage.

Ray Guy Award voters evaluated the punters on their overall statistics and contribution to the team. Particular emphasis was placed on the following statistics: net average, percentage of total punts inside the 20-yard line, and percentage of punts not returned. Georgia, Michigan, and Florida currently lead the NCAA in net punting.

The winner of the 10th Ray Guy Award will be announced live on ESPN during the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards show on Thursday, December 10. The winner will again be honored at the CSRA All Area Football Banquet at the Augusta Marriott Hotel and Suites on January 14, 2010.

About the Ray Guy Award:
The Augusta Sports Council created the Ray Guy Award in 2000 to honor Thomson, Georgia-native, College Football Hall of Fame inductee, and arguably football’s greatest punter, Ray Guy. The RGA selection committee evaluates the nominees overall statistics and contribution to their team to identify the semi-finalists. Finalists and the winner are selected by the national voting body.

About the Augusta Sports Council
The Augusta Sports Council (ASC) is a 501-c-3 non-profit organization, established in 1992 to market the Augusta-area as a major amateur sports destination. Annually, the Augusta Sports Council attracts, supports, and manages numerous competitions and activities for all levels of participation.

About the National College Football Awards Association
The Ray Guy Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. http://www.fcfaa.org/

Coach Zauner with Drew Butler & Kevin Butler

Click here to listen to Kevin Butler's Testimonial about his son Drew working with Coach Zauner.

Stayed Tuned For More Of Coach Zauner's Blog's!

Visit: www.coachzauner.com

Follow Coach Zauner on www.twitter.com